Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned
    Overall activity: 0%

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    Points
    2,508

    Wot Says Green Norton safeweb Says Malicious website

    Dont open this website untill u have good protection its 4 discussion here




    i was curious to see this kind of result that i faced 1st time this website is green in WOT ratings but as i use norton safeweb as well it says its a malicious website so wot to do shud visit this website or not

    hxxp://www.myhost300.altervista.org/
    Last edited by hellnoire; 07-27-2010 at 05:51 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    Hi
    MalwareBytes' Antimalware pro ip blocker prevents to reach altervista.org domains as well, because altervista is often used to host aggressive adv/dialers/cracks as far as I know.
    It doesn't mean that each blog hosted by altervista is malicious of course.
    I believe it is the same for Norton Safe Web or Norton DSN.

    Norton and WOT have different approaches anyhow
    Last edited by leofelix; 07-27-2010 at 12:09 AM.
    Roger and out

  3. #3
    Banned
    Overall activity: 0%

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    Points
    2,508
    so shud i visit this website or not?????

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    it depends on you.
    If you know that website is safe visit it.
    If you are not sure avoid it.

  5. #5
    Modern-day Romeo
    Overall activity: 18.0%

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Singapore, the "Little Red Dot" on the map
    Posts
    6,159
    Liked
    476 times
    Points
    60,895
    It's really simple...whenever you face a site that you suspect has probability of infecting your PC, then the best thing to do is to avoid opening it, especially if the site has nothing worthy to offer in exchange for the 'risk' you take.....it's far better than to cry later on. However if you are just too curious to take a peep at what's on the site, then make sure you do it in a sandbox or virtual environment...or at least make sure that your current protection setup prevents drive-by downloads or unauthorized malicious installation. Having a credible and trusted AV with strong detection rates helps too...along-with some back-up for necessary data.

    As for the site you mention itself, I tried opening the site using a clean installation of Firefox within Sandboxie and here's a screen-shot of it..no reason for you to go there at all...

    They call me the mysterious one...
    my motto is...when it's hot, chill baby

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    LOL ahahaha
    it is in italian.. and it is safe
    try to click to download, it will bring you here
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Security/Security-Related/Analyze-Scanner.shtml
    or here

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Security/Security-Related/Analyze-Surf-Safe.shtml

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Search-engine-tools-submiting/AnalyzePedia-Software-Search.shtml

    The developer is italian and makes security software
    http://www.softpedia.com/developer/Gaetano-Emanuele-Mezzofante-69460.html
    Last edited by leofelix; 07-27-2010 at 08:29 AM.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Ferrari homepage is green
    By idaho in forum Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-05-2011, 04:47 AM
  2. ACER 1916 Monitor - GREEN TINT
    By hellnoire in forum Graphics and Design
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 03:35 PM
  3. Green Dam Censorware System
    By luffy in forum Spyware/Viruses
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 03:39 PM
  4. Mcafee siteadvisor or norton safeweb or WOT
    By vickypark in forum General Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:13 PM
  5. Do you think its time for us to Go Green!
    By meghna in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 07:48 PM
All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:21 AM.