Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    acr
    acr is offline
    Banned
    Overall activity: 0%

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    563
    Liked
    2 times
    Points
    9,798

    Giveawayoftheday.com expired ?

    http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/

    this can't be a good sign
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    Actually Norton DNS blocked giveawayoftheday

    Malicious Web Site Blocked
    giveawayoftheday.com now redirects to searchnut.com

    This is a known malicious web site. It is recommended that you do NOT visit this site.

    detailed report below

    http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=www.searchnut.com

    [EDIT TO ADD] while the italian version is working

    http://it.giveawayoftheday.com/winx-dvd-ripper-platinum-6-0/
    Last edited by leofelix; 11-01-2010 at 01:21 PM.
    Roger and out

  3. #3
    Righteous Dude
    Overall activity: 47.0%

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,899
    Liked
    781 times
    Points
    25,850
    Odd, looks like their domain name is down, but their ip address still works. Links won't work if you don't know the address though.

    hxxp:// 208.88.224.199/

    A Guy
    Last edited by leofelix; 11-01-2010 at 01:30 PM. Reason: pontentially harmful link removed

  4. #4
    Experienced User
    Overall activity: 25.0%

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Quarantine
    Posts
    1,829
    Liked
    74 times
    Points
    21,703
    Damn. The mods on Giveawayoftheday keep saying the Giveawayoftheday website is safe. Their Giveaway software has been tested for virus and spyware blablabla.
    I can't trust these Giveawayoftheday mods anymore.
    This user has not enabled signature viewing, if you wish to view this user's signature please upgrade to a Raymond Gold account. THIS PORTION OF THIS QUOTE HAS BEEN CENSORED BY SOPA.

  5. #5
    Experienced User
    Overall activity: 0%

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,271
    Liked
    155 times
    Points
    6,541
    I have no such problem. http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/ is working fine here.
    Windows 7 SP1 Ultimate x86 + KIS 2011 (11.0.2.556 b.a.c.d) + Sandboxie Paid (3.54) + Deep Freeze Standard (7.20.020.3398)

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    Quote Originally Posted by A Guy View Post
    Odd, looks like their domain name is down, but their ip address still works. Links won't work if you don't know the address though.

    txxp://208.88.224.199/

    A Guy

    I would not be happy in reaching that host/ip

    http://www.mywot.com/scorecard/208.88.224.199

    it is listed here as well

    http://www.autoshun.org/files/shunlist.html

  7. #7
    Righteous Dude
    Overall activity: 47.0%

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,899
    Liked
    781 times
    Points
    25,850
    Yeah, I'm staying away. But it's listed on WOT only because it was reported as listed on that other site, and that was in April. All in all a very iffy situation. A Guy

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Overall activity: 73.0%

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    6,895
    Liked
    1067 times
    Points
    71,755
    Quote Originally Posted by A Guy View Post
    Yeah, I'm staying away. But it's listed on WOT only because it was reported as listed on that other site, and that was in April. All in all a very iffy situation. A Guy
    It is listed here as well

    http://hosts-file.net/?s=giveawayoftheday.com

    MMT - Sites engaged in the use of misleading marketing tactics

    This classification is assigned to sites that use misleading tactics to push applications (e.g. affiliate sites peddling a program as a free removal tool when infact it's a free scan only) or websites.
    Last edited by leofelix; 11-01-2010 at 02:33 PM.

  9. #9
    acr
    acr is offline
    Banned
    Overall activity: 0%

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    563
    Liked
    2 times
    Points
    9,798
    I also hate that the Giveawayoftheday mods delete comments in the product review section if the comment mentions a product is listed on hphosts , has a bad reputation, etc. They really cannot be trusted. Heck I remember one product contained some whistler trojan which was reported by some people. The product developer apparently made a post that the trojan had been removed and a new download was cued up. GAOTD treated this as no big deal and went ahead and allowed the product to continue to be listed. I can't think of any legit site that would allow that developer to ever list anything on their site again. After this though the posts about downloads being suspicious or sites listed on hphosts or having bad reps started to get edited very heavily by mods.

  10. #10
    Righteous Dude
    Overall activity: 47.0%

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,899
    Liked
    781 times
    Points
    25,850
    It's baaaaack...

    A Guy

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ..ur account name is already expired.
    By rchd_30 in forum Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2009, 09:33 PM
  2. kav8 key expired pls help!
    By nik in forum General Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 02:25 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 01:03 AM

Tags for this Thread

All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:35 AM.