Ad-Aware 8.3.0.0 free released (now includes an antivirus)

Discussion in 'Security and Viruses' started by leofelix, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. leofelix

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,805
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Ad-Aware 8.3.0.0 free released

    What's new in this version:

    Version 8.3 has now expanded to include anti-virus protection.

    What's new in this version:

    Version 8.3 has now expanded to include anti-virus protection.

    Download Lavasoft ad-aware free 8.3 (119.87 MB)
     
  2. hellnoire

    hellnoire *nix Technical Support

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Who's their AV provider?
     
  3. leofelix

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,805
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Vipre antivirus engine A.F.A.I.K
     
  4. hellnoire

    hellnoire *nix Technical Support

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Alrightly then... never used Vipre but never also stood out so... no comment on this yet.
     
  5. leofelix

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,805
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I have used Vipre antivirus v 3... for some days.
    However I think I'll test this against some malware samples:)
     
  6. Ceyfer √

    Ceyfer √ Prominent Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,811
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Sneak Peak

    [​IMG]

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/9210/20100707031819.png

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/6079/20100707031321.png

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7758/20100707031338.png

    [​IMG]

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/4961/20100707031029.png

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/6049/20100707031048.png

    [External Image Currently Unavailable]:http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/4020/20100707031212.png

    [​IMG]

    Internal refinements are expected as the introduction of the Av engine. No further comments so far.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  7. leofelix

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,805
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    thank you Ceyfer for the snapshots and further informations provided
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  8. safeguy

    safeguy Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,632
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    From what ceyfer posted, the GUI looks clean....but I'm still concerned over resource usage. Ad-Aware had been a bloat for me in the past - more than AVG did for the matter. Since they now include an AV engine (Vipre) which I presume is of the "medium range"....it would be really interesting to see how the combo goes...

    Anyway, here's the thread over at Wilders...
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1708245
     
  9. Ceyfer √

    Ceyfer √ Prominent Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,811
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Did you already tried it leo?
     
  10. leofelix

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,805
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Yes ceyfer, tonight I installed it into a Virtual PC running XP SP3.
    It takes 49 MB in my task manager when idle.
    Lavasoft has not already fixed ad-aware updates issues (1 hour to update...., system rebooted without user notice in order to maKe ad-aware properly working)
    It is not possible to opt out antivirus engine (Vipre) during setup (even custom), you can uncheck it once installed (not reccomended, you'll lose real time protection)
    Full scan takes ages.
    It selfregisters as an antivirus in Windows Security Center.
    My Virtual PC with XP and 512 ram allocated slown down.
    Detection rate on demand (known malware)is quite good (missed 2 known Trojan Spy on 10 malware samples)
    Not bad on malware execution: it blocked almost every malware sample.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2010

Share This Page...