Frequent Internet Connections Drops

Discussion in 'Network and Internet' started by chandu, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. chandu

    chandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    I have a D-link 2750U router i bought it almost 6 months ago.It was fine until about a month ago, when my internet onnection drops frequently and i have to restart the modem to get the internet working again.

    things i tried

    i tried resetting my modem and applying only the essential settings for a successful connection.i.e isp username and password.it works until my connection drops.

    any tools to diagnose my problems.

    i also rma'd my router still the problem exists but i tried another router which came from the isp and the connection works perfectly.

    Thanks
     
  2. chandu

    chandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    i even tried the same on different linux distros still the same problem.my current setup win7 x64 ultimate.

    also my connection is directly connected to router without any splitter in between.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2017
  3. INDRANIL

    INDRANIL Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5,192
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Ratings:
    +35 / 1 / -0
    Which ISP you are using ? Did you notify them about your problem which you are facing ?? Disconnect all Lan, turn on WIFI and connect Mobile device and start browsing etc and watch same problem persists or not.
     
  4. chandu

    chandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    my current isp is BSNL.my problem persists only on wifi also,i'm trying to check the connection with another router.
    Thanks
     
  5. Hal9000

    Hal9000 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,461
    Trophy Points:
    370
    Ratings:
    +1,135 / 0 / -0
    This sounds like a compatibility issue between your router and line, especially if the ISP supplied router works perfectly. There may have been some changes made locally on your line and the 3rd party router doesn't like it. Best to speak to your ISP about any recent changes/issues.
     
  6. position

    position Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,290
    Trophy Points:
    295
    Ratings:
    +526 / 0 / -0
    I think a few DLink routers have this issue with BSNL...... try to get your routers snr and attn values checked at your nearest BSNL center..... they will configure it accordingly...... they know about this issue
     
  7. chandu

    chandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    my issue was solved after a checkup of the dsl line.

    how do i mark it as solved?
     

Share This Page...