How to unpack .SDC file

Discussion in 'Computer Software' started by Matrix, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. Matrix

    Matrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello,
    Its my 1st post to this thread. :D
    I have vista X64 ISO wraped in SDC format . I just want to know that how can i unpack the iso image from .SDC format & burn a DVD for me?

    When i tried to open it like other iso files it shows an error massage that file is curropt or unknown format.:|

    Can i check X64 software on 32 bit machine or i have to check it on X64 bit machine:|

    Any help is heighly appriciated.:)
     

  2. Raymond

    Raymond Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,898
    Trophy Points:
    295
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -1
    How can ISO wrapped in SDC format? I found out that SDC is an OpenOffice.org Calc Spreadsheet extension.
     
  3. Matrix

    Matrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi raymond,
    working on files???????
     
  4. imagi

    imagi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    SDC is a "Secure Download Cabinet" file format by Microsoft. It is used for MSDNAA distribution.
    I wrote an unpacker for these files few days ago. You can grab it from my blog
     
  5. Raymond

    Raymond Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,898
    Trophy Points:
    295
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -1
    Great job. Thanks for sharing.
     
  6. mEtRiX

    mEtRiX Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Honestly, I don't know why people pack things in formats other than *.iso or *.rar? I'm tired of having to download other software to extract archives like *.daa or *.uif, sheesh.
     
  7. imagi

    imagi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Huh, SDC files are intended to be 'secure' and unpacked only by Microsoft's own downloader, which you get when you check out software on the licensing website.
    The problem is that this downloader sometimes can't do its job properly, so I've been forced to code the unpacker ;)
    Besides that - I completly agree with you.
     
  8. Matrix

    Matrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Imagi, Thanks for sharing but when i run this exe a message comes " the application failed to initilize properly ( 0Xc0000135) click ok to terminate the application" Can u Guide whats wrong.
     
  9. imagi

    imagi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Silly question - do you have .net framework 2.0 installed? ;)

    This is commandline tool, use it as follows:
    UnpackSDC [SdcFile] [OutputDir] <skipcrc>
    SdcFile - file to unpack
    OutputDir - directory to unpack to
    skipcrc - when specified, crc check will be skipped
     
  10. Matrix

    Matrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi imagi i have renamed the file & removed .SDc from it now your tool does not recognize the file.
    Can i add the deleted .SDc again
    or is there any other way to write this image to DVD. so that i can install Vista.
     

Share This Page...