New Os On Android Smartphone

Discussion in 'Phones and Tablets' started by ARUNESH DUTTA, Jan 24, 2015.

1. ARUNESH DUTTA

ARUNESH DUTTA Active Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -2
    Dear all;

I am new to this.Please let me know what is cyanogen and how good is it as os in mobile as I was browsing and came to know of same.any better options apart from it.I have a spare smartphone that i could try having 512 MB RAM.I want to know if its good how should I proceed with the same

Thanks

2. position

position Distinguished Member

Ratings:
    +526 / 0 / -0
    CyanogenMod is an open source operating system for smartphones and tablet computers, based on the Android mobile platform.... its free and open source.... offers features and options not found in the official firmware distributed by mobile device vendors...

It can be highly customized..... free of bloatware, and also will perform better in the phone compared to official firmware.....

Benefits : Up-to-Date, Stock Android, Pre Rooted, Highly Tweak-able, in built Privacy guard to name a few, more closer experience to stock android than that of the phone firmware.....

For more info visit here : http://www.cyanogenmod.org/

use can also try XDA forums for your specific phone model......

This should also help : http://www.linux.com/learn/tutorials/698725-how-to-install-cyanogenmod-on-an-android-phone

also make sure you install a stable build version on your phone and not one of those nightly builds.... they are mostly full of bugs....

DO NOTE ITS DEVISE SPECIFIC

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  3. Hal9000

Hal9000 Administrator

Ratings:
    +1,138 / 0 / -0
    CyanogenMod can be good but it can also be extremely buggy, I tried it several times and there's was always something that didn't work properly.