Remote Computer Address 192.168.1.41:49175 (Need Help Quick)

Discussion in 'General Computer Chat' started by luffy, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. luffy
    Offline

    luffy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    While I'm playing game offline. I'm getting the firewall popup saying:

    Program: system
    Remote Computer Address
    192.168.1.41:49175
    Protocol: UDP

    And then 192.168.1.41:49179
    And then 192.168.1.41:49180

    I chose block option.

    Can someone tell me what it is about?
    I google the Remote Computer Address. No result.
  2. Guest Ads
    Online

    Google King of the Internet

  3. hellnoire
    Offline

    hellnoire *nix Technical Support

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8,925
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It's a private IP... by the looks of it, someone trying to get in or out of your computer.
  4. vonn
    Offline

    vonn Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It could be an auto-updater. They use some wacky things sometimes. Especially for lower-end games =P
  5. luffy
    Offline

    luffy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I already ran MBAM and VIPRE yesterday. The game I was playing in offline mode. So no update for it. What else? It's Dawn of War from Steam btw.
  6. grr
    Offline

    grr Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    :lol:

    Ur PC is saying "Man giveme a break & go to sleep" :wink0000:

    btw..some application is trying to communicate to outside world...net from ur PC...
    currently whats ur local/internal IP?
  7. vonn
    Offline

    vonn Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Well, it's a private C class IP. So it's more then likely something trying to access OUT from your computer. You can confirm this by opening a command prompt (start -> run -> cmd) and typing "ipconfig" without the quotes and check to see if the ip address is the same as the one the firewall shows. If it is, your computer is looking out to the internet to pull something in on port 49175.

    If that's the case, make sure the port is blocked. You could also try to packet sniff it to see just what it's doing, but that's advanced and should only be done after these initial tests.

    Hope this helps you.

    edit:

    It could be a connection in from one of his other computers if he's on a router.
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
  8. grr
    Offline

    grr Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    yes, but very strange that his router could support 40 connections...and so many connections are there.

    Chances also are that his wireless is compromised and someone is also using it...


    and port 49179 is very weird...could be someone hacked the router...

    1st option, change router password....:)
  9. luffy
    Offline

    luffy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I look up my wireless router. No strange device.
    How do you know my router support 40 connections?
  10. vonn
    Offline

    vonn Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    When you hack a router it's much easier to use a common port. Like gnutella's old port. But that is a good option I didn't think about. Wireless router may very well be comprised. Change wireless password, change WPA2 key.
  11. grr
    Offline

    grr Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    i don't say it supports...but IPs 192.168.x.x r all internal to ur router...and if firewall says 192.168.x.40...it means u have around 39 connections, which is strange...

    change ur router access password
    change ur wireless SSID, password
    and tell me what router u have, so that i can look further...