site block

Discussion in 'General Computer Chat' started by azharsairon, May 8, 2009.

  1. azharsairon

    azharsairon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    how block entry to some site from my home?
    is there any software
     
  2. utkarsh30june

    utkarsh30june Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,294
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. OUSAK

    OUSAK Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    There's 2 ways without using any extra software:

    - Add an entry to the hosts file:

    What adding an entry to the hosts file does, is that it tells your computer to redirect that site back to your pc (in other words no-where), which results in the blocking of that site (domain) on your pc.
    This is what SpyBot does when you use the immunize feature.

    This is the recommended way as it is global to your pc, regardless of what browser you use to access the internet (even trying to ping the site using command prompt will fail - be redirected).

    Located in: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    (Ensure file is not read-only when updating, then make it read-only when you are done updating).


    Entry format: 127.0.0.1 badsite.com
    or 127.0.0.1 *.badsite.com
    or 127.0.0.1 255.244.243.1

    More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_file



    - Adding the site to the Restricted zone in Internet Explorer only

    Another option is adding the site to your Restricted zone in Internet explorer. See attached screenshot.


    Add to both if you want to be on the safe side.

    Also ensure you are using an updated Antivirus (with realtime monitoring) and antispyware software, before browsing "new" websites.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. brayden

    brayden Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,695
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    As far as I know you can block pages in firefox and if you use Kaspersky Internet Security you can use the Parental Control settings to make it block it, and password protect the settings.
     
  5. Raymond

    Raymond Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,903
    Trophy Points:
    295
    Ratings:
    +106 / 1 / -1
    OpenDNS.com allows you to block individual domains.
    You'll need to sign up for an opendns account, and then set up your computer/router to use opendns' DNS.

    Login to OpenDNS, go to Settings > Content Filtering. Scroll right to the bottom and you'll see "Manage individual domains".
     
  6. detailer

    detailer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    More on Open DNS here.
     

Share This Page...