What does orignal hosts file look like?

Discussion in 'General Computer Chat' started by luffy, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. luffy
    Offline

    luffy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Windows Vista hosts file has:
    ::1 localhost

    According to this site:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034
    Vista hosts file has
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost

    Does anyone know why my Vista hosts file is missing the 127.0.0.1 localhost
    ??
  2. Guest Ads
    Online

    Google King of the Internet

  3. A Guy
    Offline

    A Guy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,489
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Ratings:
    +88 / 2 / -0
    That's very hard to say. Some 3rd party software, cleaner, tweaker at some point. My hosts file is chock full of entries, so original was long ago lost, lol. A Guy
  4. Alboguy
    Offline

    Alboguy Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,635
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Try the Miscrosoft Fix It option.
  5. bonishah88
    Offline

    bonishah88 Notable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Here is what my hosts file look like :
  6. leofelix
    Offline

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,812
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @ Luffy
    I do not why but you can manually add it

    Code:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    You can use Winapatrol (which has a built in HOSTS editor)
    Or you can locate it then edit by yourself

    http://maximumpcguides.com/windows-vista/edit-the-windows-vista-hosts-file/
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  7. luffy
    Offline

    luffy Prominent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Can you tell me what is the diff between ::1 localhost and 127.0.0.1 localhost ?
    Why does Windows XP only has 127.0.0.1 localhost but vista and 7 have both ::1 localhost and 127.0.0.1 localhost ?
    Main question, do I need to have both? Because I can access to the Internet just fine with only ::1 localhost.
  8. leofelix
    Offline

    leofelix Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,812
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I believe only Microsoft knows:)
  9. hellnoire
    Offline

    hellnoire *nix Technical Support

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8,925
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The difference between them is 127.0.0.1 and ::1 is that ::1 is IPv6, the other is IPv4, if I remember correctly.
  10. Boyfriend
    Offline

    Boyfriend Prominent Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,249
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    hellnoire is right. ::1 localhost represent IPv6 loopback address, while 127.0.0.1 localhost represent IPv4 loopback address. These entries are present in Windows Vista and Windows 7 host file because network stack of Windows Vista (later inherited to Windows 7) were written from scratch to add new features/optimization and IPv6 generic support, while for Windows XP, MS added support of IPv6 in SP3 and also has released an update to further optimize IPv6.
  11. INDRANIL
    Offline

    INDRANIL Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5,157
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Yeap Paul :thumbup1:. @luffy http://forum.raymond.cc/network/21503-1-localhost-in-windows-7-64bit-os.html ;).